Kevin & Bean's April Foolishness: Bill Burr, Anjelah Johnson, David Koechner, Jimmy Pardo, Adam Ray, Jonah Ray, and Taylor Williamson. Tickets on sale NOW!

Empire of the Sun will Release New Album ‘Two Vines’ this Fall

Their third album arrives October 28

By Amanda Wicks

Australian electronic music duo Empire of the Sun will be releasing new music on October 28. Their new album, titled Two Vines, will follow their 2013 sophomore album Ice on the Dune.

The band will be stopping by The Kevin & Bean Show Tuesday morning at 7:20am to world premiere their new song “High and Low.”

Related: Empire of the Sun Releases New ‘Walking on a Dream’ Video

The group split the recording process between Los Angeles and Hawaii, and Emperor Luke Steele credits the latter’s location with helping him create. “Going to Hawaii to record was the best idea,” he said. “That was the catalyst for me. I’d spend the morning surfing, then roll in and make music into the night” (via Pitchfork).

Two Vines will include features from a range of classic rock and contemporary musicians. Fleetwood Mac’s Lindsey Buckingham, guitarist Wendy Melvoin—from Prince’s band the Revolution—and pianist Henry Hey and bassist Tim Lefebvre, from David Bowie’s Blackstar band, will all appear on the album.

In approaching their latest album, Lord Nick Littlemore said, they gravitated toward a particular image to help them fuel their songwriting. “There was an image we talked about very early on with this record, before we wrote the title track, ‘Two Vines,’ and that was this image of a modern city overtaken by jungle, almost like mother nature taking back the planet,” he said. “All the buildings will turn back to sand. All it will be is nature again. We wanted to make something that reflected the beauty of that, and the wisdom that plants can give us about living harmoniously on this beautiful planet.”

Check out the tracklist below.

1. Before
2. High and Low
3. Two Vines
4. Friends
5. There’s No Need
6. Way to Go
7. Ride
8. Digital Life
9. First Crush
10. ZZZ
11. To Her Door
12. Keystone
13. Lend Me Some Light
14. Welcome to My Life
15. Walking on a Dream


One Comment

Comments are closed.

More From The World Famous KROQ

HD Radio Sound Space
Kevin & Bean Podcast
Stream Roq Of The 80s

Listen Live